April, 27 2015

Hey everyone! This week has probably been the craziest week that I have had on my mission. It was absolutely crazy.

It basically started on Tuesday when my new comp and I got on the plane to head to Sucre. It is such a beautiful city. It’s all white and kind of clean; well super clean for Bolivia. Ha-ha. But we stayed there for a day and went teaching with the other missionary’s who are based in Sucre. That was cool. There are a bunch of hills in Sucre and the streets are all just up and down. Then at 8 at night we left on the flota to head for Villazon. On our bus were my comp and I and then our new zone leader who is just awesome. We were in the same zone before and then 3 others…2 sisters and one elder. We dropped them off at their area, which is Tupiza at about 5 in the morning, and then my comp and I had 3 more hours on the bus to our zone in Villazon. The bus was horrible! There is no AC so it was about 80 degrees, and i didn’t sleep a lick, but its alright. Ha-ha! I’m here now and the beds in Villazon are way more comfy.

My comp and I are opening a new area, which is crazy and super fun, but wow it is hard work. We are starting from 0. We don’t know anyone in our area, and we don’t know where anything is, but we are working super hard. We are contacting everyday and visiting less actives. A super cool part of this area is that it includes Argentina. Four days a week we cross into Argentina though a river because I don’t have papers to enter into Argentina. It’s super funny how you can tell if someone is from Argentina or from Bolivia because they speak differently.

The weather here is super crazy! We are super high up, a little over 12,000 feet. In the mornings it is super cold here and at night as well, but in the day it’s hot and cold at the same time because there is a bunch of wind, which just tears through your clothes. But its almost winter here now, and the people say that during the winters it gets down to -7. That might be a bit cold, ☺ but I love working in the cold. I feel like I work better and harder. Yesterday was crazy! There was a huge storm, lightning and thunder all around us for about 5 hours. Then it began to hail, but not just a little, but for about an hour, and everywhere we walked there was 2″ of hail. Crazy right? I was in heaven. On the way back to the house that night my comp and I had a hail ball fight which was so refreshing and freezing at the same time.

I love preaching the gospel here. It’s so amazing. We have met so many new and interesting people, and I I know the Lord is leading us to them. And wow, the branch here is amazing. It’s not a ward yet but just a branch, which is something new for me. The branch president is super focused and devoted to missionary work and is the leader of the boarder patrol in Argentina. He said if we ever get caught just to call him and he will take care of us. Yesterday they told me 2 min before church that I would be the main speaker. It was crazy! i wasn’t really nervous at all . I just got up there and gave a talk about how the Lord is always here for us and then I shared a couple of my favorite verses. This one is 2 Nephi 4:34-35

O LORD, I HAVE TRUSTED IN THEE, AND I WILL TRUST IN THEE FOREVER. I WILL NOT PUT MY TRUST IN THE ARM OF FLESH; FOR I KNOW THAT CURSED IS HE THAT PUTTETH HIS TRUST IN THE ARM OF FLESH. YEA, CURSED IS HE THAT PUTTETH HIS TRUST IN MAN OR MAKETH FLESTH HIS ARM
YEA, I KNOW THAT GOD WILL GIVE LIBERALLY TO HIM THAT ASKETH. YEA, MY GOD WILL GIVE ME, IF I ASK NOT AMISS; THEREFORE I WILL LIFT UP MY VOICE UNTO THEE; MY GOD, THE ROCK OF MY RIGHTEOUSNESS. BEHOLD MY VOICE SHALL FOREVER ACEND UP UNTO THEE, MY ROCK AND MINE EVERLASTING GOD. AMEN.

I LOVE this scripture so much and it is so true. We should always put our trust in the Lord. He is there for us, and hears and answers our prayers.
I just want to tell my sisters Maddy, Olivia, Emme, Kendall, and Kenya, that I love them so much and that they are so strong and so amazing! No matter what they have always been there for me, and have been such a huge influences in my life. It stinks that I can’t be there to protect you guys right now, but you guys are always in my heart, and I want you guys to make the best decisions. I know these next few years will be the most important of your life. Mom, I love you and miss you tons, and I love your 4 page letters even if it takes me 20 min to read them, and Dad thanks for everything. Miss you guys! Love ELDER ZIERING-Smith

Mom, I’m in my new area now and don’t know when I will be skyping you yet but I will soon. And the bus ride was 12 hours!! Wow your letter was amazing I had tears in my eyes while reading it. Those things that parker shared are so true. The mission is super hard but I wouldn’t change anything about it. I miss you and will write you in a week. I might skype you guys May 27 is that okay?