April 13, 2015

Hey guys how is everything going? I miss you guys a bunch. It’s weird now that I’m 19! I don’t really feel 19, and it was much cooler telling people that I was only 18. But it was a good birthday. The day before my birthday, on Saturday, we planned a family home evening with the whole ward. There were about 30 people who came, including one of the families of investigators with 5 people. That was awesome. The family home evening was after our baptism of Moses, which was awesome. He is really an amazing member.

We played this game at the church where we hid a Bible in the tall grass. Me and the other 3 missionaries from the ward would gather together in the grass and all the other people stood on the out side of the grass. The they would run in the grass and try and find and grab the Bible without us missionaries tagging them. It was super fun. We compared it to Nephi when he was trying to get the plates from king Laban. It was super cool. We talked about how important it is that we have the scriptures to learn and study from.

This past week I made a goal to read and finish the book of Mormon this month. I think this will really help me draw closer to God and help me teach people. Anyway on Sunday, my birthday, it was just a normal day like always, but at 3 we went over to Hemano Marios house. He is the member who has one foot. My comp and I, and about 5 other members washed all of his clothes and did his dishes. Then we cooked for him at his house and ate a bunch of food. It was amazing. He is so amazing and has such great faith. It’s super hard for him because of his problems and because of his family. They left him…well they live above him, but won’t talk to him. We barely even see them, and he is in a wheelchair for the rest of his life. So he is like family to us. Anyway, later my comp smashed eggs on my head and then Hermano

Sorry I accidently sent that! Ha ha! Anyway, then Hermano Christian, a member, poured flour all over my head! Ha ha! It was great.
This week I was reading the scriptures in Isaiah, and some chapters in 2 Nephi, and I read a phrase that WAS REPEATED ABOUT 6 TIMES IN THOSE 3 CHAPTURES! It just hit me right in the heart. In chapter 16-19 it says that the wicked are turned against me but my arms are still stretched out. That is our Lord and our Savior Jesus Christ. No matter what we do He is always there for us with his hands stretched out. He loves us and will never forget us. No matter what, we can rely on him to help us.
Well, I miss you guys a bunch. Each week goes by faster and faster. It’s crazy. Next Tuesday is transfers and I should be getting a new comp. I’m excited to find out who it is. My training is coming to an end. The 12 weeks is almost over. I love this work and I am so excited and lucky to be here. I don’t want to leave. There is so much work to do here. We have a bunch of great investigators who I love visiting. Their stories are incredible and each one unique.

Thank you for all the birthday wishes. I love you so much. I miss all of you and will talk to you next week.

Hey, can you say hi to the Twellman’s for me? And my training is almost over. This is the last week. Next week we have transfers so that will be exciting to find out where I go or whom my next comp is. But my birthday was all right. We ate lunch and did service for Mario who I told you about, for my birthday, which was fun. We didn’t have a cake on the 12th, but we had on the 11th with our ward for a family home evening. It was with our investigators and members after we baptized Moses, which was fun. But I worked all day Sunday like normal, but I love it!

It rains a lot here, but look up the weather for Punata. Sometimes its super hot, then rains, then supper windy and cold, its crazy! I’ll get some warmer clothes don’t worry. I’m warm enough now where I am, but if I get transferred to Potosi I will need to buy clothes because it’s the highest city in the world. It’s high in the mountains and super cold.

IMG_1401

IMG_1448

IMG_1491