December 30, 2014

 Hollllaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’m officially a 4 weeker!!!! I love the CCM so much. It’s amazing here, but at the same time it is crazy hard. There is no free time to write letters, write emails, or do anything like that. We get a bunch of homework each day, and we need to find time to squeeze it all into our 16-hour days. CRAZY!!! I can say prayers in Spanish now, bare my testimony in Spanish now, and carry on conversations with Latinos! Today is basically our first prep day; we went to the Colombian temple for about 5 hours and just got back. I miss all you guys so much. 2 nights ago we may have broke the mission rules by staying up past 10:30. At 11:00 at night most of the 6 weekers; the missionary’s who were about to leave the CCM or MTC and go into the field, held a testimony in a small room. My companion and I, and 3 of the 4 weekers came as well, and we bore our testimony. It’s so crazy, 4 out of the 7 six weekers are converts and had super hard lives before they came out on missions. There testimony’s were so strong and touched me greatly. The Latinos here come from nothing. I was talking to a Latino friend I made in the CCM named Rojas, and he is from Venezuela. He was telling me that their government is so corrupt that each month their money expires and is useless, so making money there is super hard. Rojas brought all his money with him and gave it to us because it will be of no use to him. He also got his suit for his mission from the dumpster of a wealthy man’s home. We have so many blessings where we come from, and are so lucky to live in America. His story was so humbling. Last night all the 6 weekers were leaving so we stayed up with them to say good-bye. Its super sad because I have become super close with all of them. I love my mission so far. Colombia is crazy! The people here are crazy, and stink at driving. I can’t wait to continue to bring families closer together. I’m sorry my e-mail is so short and the spelling is horrible. There is no spell check here because I should be typing in Spanish! Ha-ha! Also, I don’t have time to go back and check my mistakes. I’m racing against the clock.

I want you all to know that I love this gospel so very much and I love the people in it. The gospel does really bless our lives and the lives of our families. I know that if you are ever feeling alone God is always looking out for you, and is there for you!!!!!!!! Love all you guys and miss you!

LOVE ELDER ZIERING-SMITH

Matthew enjoying p-day at the CCM

Matthew enjoying p-day at the CCM

IMG_0063